Showing posts with label rangers 2011. Show all posts
Showing posts with label rangers 2011. Show all posts

Wednesday, November 02, 2011

The Reason The Rangers Lost the World Series

Ron Washington not understanding the NL Game (1-5 in NL Parks in WS)?

Nelson Cruz catch attempt in 9th Inning of Game 6?

Rainout of Game 6 when it didn't rain bringing Carpenter Back for Game 7?

Home Plate umpire Jerry Layne Squeezes the Rangers in Game 7?

Nefti Feliz has 2 outs and 2 strikes - also 2 run lead in save situation in Game 6?

Losing the All-Star Game - CJ Wilson to Prince Fielder?

Or something else?

Sunday, October 30, 2011

World Series Game 7 Tweets

whtsurlifdeduct go4thegreen
@SportsSturm Can I get a retweet fir the note left on his door this morning. lockerz.com/s/151329220
29 Oct Favorite Undo Retweet Reply
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@MikeBacsik love you too. NFL #1, everybody else takes turns being #2 depending on month of the year. Truth.
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
“@BooyahColeman: 2nd place = zero” >>> I guess I have no reply for that silly logic. Good day, sir.
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@MikeBacsik since when have I ever been political? Did you not get the answer you wanted? Why ask if my reply isn't enough?
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@hawg_jim not for people my age. I was 23 before they ever played in a real playoff game.
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Anyway, I am bummed, too. It is amazing disappointing. Just had some HSOs that couldn't wait for Monday.
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@pappabrprewitt feels good and being a punchline are miles apart. I bet he is darn proud of his wins.
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Title or bust has many convinced their Manager, best SP, and best hitter in franchise history all must go. After 1 strike away. Madness.
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@aaronholland if I was alive for that, then fine. Born in 1972. They made the playoffs once before I was 22. That was a strike year.
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
“@arob8421: how many did the bills win again?”>> That's the point. If you only enjoy sports 4 that rare dream championship, expect misery.
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@MikeBacsik honestly, I follow all 5 sports so closely that ordering them is like ranking your children.
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
And as a non-entitled sports addict (non Cowboys, Lakers, Yankees), I kind of find Bills punchlines to be amazing. 4 SBs is bad? Come on.
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
“@poncica: not ready to move on.>>> Don't move on. But also don't let your head convince you it was 0-162 this year.
29 Oct

BrandonBibb_DBD Brandon
@
@SportsSturm True. But if you don't mind, I'm going to make myself feel better by rewatching Game 6 of the NBA Finals.
29 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Chin up, Rangers fans. Back to back pennants and bright, sunny days ahead. There are legions of fans who would love to swap with you.
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@jshowah the funeral was last night. You still have to feed your other children.
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Blimp shot replay of Van Persie winner: unnecessary and awesome. pic.twitter.com/gMHpkBrX
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
The English football world is upside down when my mind considers Arsenal an upstart underdog. But, it appears fitting.
29 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Well, good morning ESPN2. What have we here?
29 Oct

AlbertBrooks Albert Brooks
Just got home. DON'T tell me who won the Series. Have tivo'd entire MLB season and about to watch it.
29 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
I hope all of the twitter fights I see tonight mean that real violence has been replaced by virtual violence.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@MrZieter oh it was 1000% bluff!
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Oh, sports - I wish you didn't hurt us so much. It would be smart to quit you. Instead, I will wake up and do it again tomorrow.
28 Oct

mattmohler Matt Mohler
@SportsSturm Queue up Hurt? youtube.com/watch?v=o22eIJ…
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@erudy21 FOR WHAT?!??!
28 Oct

markevans94 Mark E Evans
@
@SportsSturm 82.3% of missed calls tonight by homeplate ump went in Cards favor. twitpic.com/77cqln
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
To their blanking graves...
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Is it too early to suggest they spend some money and get some pitching in here?
28 Oct

mhilgtx mhilgtx
@SportsSturm No need 2 sports cry 2nite, we just made it 2 the WS 2 years in a row ths time w/out a tru ACE. gd as CJ was he is not that.
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
I guess they are coming back on their shields. See you on the streets.
28 Oct

tdelger Tim Delger
@SportsSturm aren't we supposed to be killing chickens or something?
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Welp....Alex, I'll take unlikely sports miracles for 1,000 please.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@stopthewave further, even Eric Nadel, Wash, and other Rangers types said same thing.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@stopthewave I imagine I would need to see depth of OF on that sample size. Cruz was deep and there in time. Love him, but had to catch it
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@stopthewave easy? no. Historic and catchable?
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Poor Nelson Cruz. What a post season and yet the first thing I will always remember will be the moment at the wall. #anytober
28 Oct

oconnor9sean Sean O'Connor
@
@DonaldJOConnor @sportssturm hey dad, don't be jealous that your son can get retweeted by Bob, and you can't.
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@KSJowell I might do that in @tweetgrubes mailbox. I think he has one.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
I think bitter Bob has arrived. Sorry.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Can't wait to hear about the great "human element" of baseball again when it comes to senile umps ruining games by screwing up calls.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@grantwylie_p1 when they are winning the tweeting is way more positive. @tweetgrubes
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
41 walks in 7 games is remarkable. 6 a game? Consider that insanity.
28 Oct

Evan_P_Grant Evan Grant
Rangers set record for most walks in a world series
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

JerodMorris Jerod Morris
@
@sportssturm not that it's a ridiculous notion, but any energy not spent urging #Rangers to victory is wasted, in my view
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

bhatter83 Brian Hatter
@
@SportsSturm You do understand that we were 1 strike away from a championship...twice!!!...and have no rt to complain about anything 2nite
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

jfilipski Jon Filipski
@
@SportsSturm this is all Romo's fault
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

jimseibold_lmft Jim Seibold
@SportsSturm I'm more angry about an exhibition game deciding home field advantage.
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@JerodMorris Am I?
28 Oct

according2boyz Mike R
#game7 just so u know, it was this time last night ranger fans were feeling good, counting outs and cards seemed out of it. @SportsSturm RT
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
I think I am more angry about the rainout than Game 6. The phantom rainout brought Carpenter back into play. #CommenceBlameGame
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Did McCarver really just suggest the possibility of a bunt down 5-2 in 7th inning of a World Series?
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Elbow Duck.
28 Oct

bajones_ Bryan Jones
Minor league. Major friendship. @tweetgrubes
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
It's time. It's almost freaking November so it is time to do it or put your little gloves back into your blue bags. LET"S GOOOOOOOOOOO!
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
RT @michelledevero cardinals were down by 3 last night too, she says with her bottom lip shaking.>> I remember! Charge!
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
RT @ledbelly This team gave us greatest baseball season of our lives. Don't they deserve our faith right now?>> yes? Right? Hello!?
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm

28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Oh dear. Words fail me.
28 Oct

jaysonst Jayson Stark
I thought Ron Washington was managing in that's-how-I-did-it-all-yr mode. Only issued 21 int BB all year. But he's now up to 9 in the WS.
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportaTORYum Tory Johnson
@SportsSturm how many times are we gonna get to hear... "Bases loaded despite the fact the ball hasn't left the infield"
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

lonestarball Adam J. Morris
Issuing an intentional walk to load the bases when your pitcher is struggling to throw strikes is a bad idea
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Mommy
28 Oct

myfavritemerkin Joel Merkins
@sportssturm you wont believe this....but 'Any Given Sunday' is on Ion.....its a sign
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
RT @snoopblair Third start in seven games, he should.>> And yet the Rangers still have no clue with Freese and Craig.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
RT @jshowah Does this feel like game 2? One run game that seems insurmountable.>> Just thinking that. Stay alive. Plenty of chances ahead.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Young - Away, Beltre - Away, Napoli - Offspeed. Carpenter seems to have a book on the Rangers hitters.
28 Oct

SI_JoeLemire Joe Lemire
Playing for one run . . . when down only one . . . with top of order . . . in 5th inning . . . on road . . . [head explodes] #rangers
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@GetSocialAdept ok.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Look alive, Kins.
28 Oct

CultofJeff CultofJeff
@
@SportsSturm I have officially eaten my last bite of bean dip with Pujols in a St. Louis jersey.
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@chrisscott87 let's unite for Game 7, Situation.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
I think this is a good time to point out that the only people that enjoy Game 7s are people who are not cheering for either team.
28 Oct

dylan2872 Dylan Horner
@SportsSturm this is a masterful plan by Harrison to get them to hit for carpenter
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@chrisscott87 Did you just make a bald funny? I shall retort with a bus boy crack. Its on.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@bjo44 you think? I don't know.
28 Oct

JasonDowdy Jason Dowdy
@
@SportsSturm I expect CJ to fly in on a jet pack to the mound...and he built the jet pack
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@chrisscott87 you might not be able to handle me tonight. If I could unfollow you, I would. Go Rangers.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Meanwhile, CJ has thrown 130 pitches since he started throwing at 7:20
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
RT @chrisscott87 quit being so negative so early, if ur doin a bit...the bit sucks.>> The bit is called Game 7 of the WORLD SERIES!!!!
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Carpenter is finding his groove, I fear. Hold me, please.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@BrettAlex I think you misread the tweet. Or the tone.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Frying pan.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
RT @wfaaweather Going to the bottom of the 3rd. Still tied at 2.>> Thanks, Pete!
28 Oct

FakeNickVanExel FakeNickVanExel
@SportsSturm - Your tweets sound like they're coming from Randy Quaid's character in ML2.
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
So, how many innings will we have the floating-on-a-boat-deck strike zone?
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Kins enjoying a great game.
28 Oct

oconnor9sean Sean O'Connor
@SportsSturm if joe buck has to start a sentence with, "for those of you who care", that should be a sign he should shut up
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Amazing that there is a debate on pinch hitting for the SP in the top of the 2nd.
28 Oct

bortzfield Bortzie
@
@SportsSturm You need to give up on last night's memories and join the rest of us here, tonight
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
If only it was you, Josh, in RF. There wouldn't be a game tonight.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Since you are expecting the "Matt Harrison is who we thought he was" tweet, I won't send it.
28 Oct

aandro Anthony Andro
And just like that the Rangers bullpen is up. C.J. Wilson warming.
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Here we bleeping go again.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@aoa4life absolutely
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
throwstrikes.com
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@bigleaguestew Here is that song, performed by @GreatDonovan with Washington Lyrics to complete your mission. theunticket.com/badd-radio-ran…
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
@
@gilebreton and Cy Young, Warren Spahn, and Randy Johnson. But this is the mountain that is in front of us...He can be tough.
28 Oct

bigleaguestew 'Duk
New Stew: Video: Ron Washington’s gyrations set to ‘Maniac’ from ‘Flashdance’ dlvr.it/sjL6K
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Josh is ready. Most excellent.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
I would pay top dollar for a night where Chris Carpenter doesn't have it. Just fear him greatly.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
And so it begins... 2-3 on the pickoff.
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Get it on. Got to get it on. No choice but to get it on. #wegotthis
28 Oct

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
It's poor quality, it's low rent. It contains a naughty word or two. But, if you want this game, I recommend this: youtube.com/watch?v=TwQPbb…
28 Oct

marc1184 Marcus Phillips
@SportsSturm women say the darnedest things: "how fast does it have to be to be a fastball?"
28 Oct
Retweeted by SportsSturm

SportsSturm Bob Sturm
Maybe we should meet and play this game out on strat-o-matic a few times before gametime.

Friday, October 21, 2011

Why Are Coaches and Managers So Dumb?

If a week in DFW sports has taught us any truth that continues to be pounded, it is that managers and coaches have many crucial decisions to make in their games. There are millions of eyeballs watching these decisions. And as long as every decision is proven to be correct, they will escape criticism from those who observe.

But, the second one of these decisions goes wrong, guys like me grab their laptops and prepare to unleash our fury - knowing full well that we really seldom ever know that the decision is wrong. Simply that the decision did not lead to the proper outcome of the sporting event that they are managing.

And yet, the media and fans - despite knowing this absurd standard of perfection that is expected - seldom ever change up our routines, because it is simply how everything works. Who needs logic when we have an easy target when our team doesn't win?

I have no idea if Ron Washington and Jason Garrett know each-other or just live in parallel universes about 500 yards apart in Arlington. But, in the last week, they are both on stages where they have been reduced by many as nearly unqualified for their own jobs. And it is all "outcome based" logic.

For Garrett, it is back-to-back weeks with back-to-back scenarios that are near identical. 4-minute drills against Detroit and New England with slim leads and about 4 minutes to play and a 3-point lead. In either game, if they can move the chains once or twice, the lead is salted away and the game is won. His choice is whether he should run the clock while running the ball (against all logic which indicates that the team is unable to run the ball) or roll the dice and take a shot over a defense that is sitting on the run.

So, against Detroit, the decision is to take a shot down-field and to go for the kill. His logic is proven sound since Jason Witten is matched up against a slower defender and appears open down the middle for what could be a touchdown with a proper throw. But, the play breaks down when Kyle Kosier and Doug Free cannot hold up in pass protection, collapsing the pocket around Tony Romo. Romo decides to throw the ball despite being forced to a back-foot posture and the ball is under-thrown and intercepted.

Poor decision, coach.

The very next week, the same coach realizes that depending on his OL for pass protection late in a game might not be any wiser than depending on his QB to make a great decision in a split second. So he opts for close-to-the-vest. He wants to run the ball and run the clock. If he can find 3-5 yards after 2 run plays, his offense will surely look for a high-percentage pass on 3rd and reasonable. Instead, the decision looks ridiculous when a simple run play loses major yardage - compounded by another penalty - and quickly, it becomes 3rd and 18.

Poor decision, coach.

But, it was the exact opposite decision? How can this be? Because neither worked. It wasn't the decision that anyone had a problem with. It was the outcome. The Cowboys lost both games.

His neighbor from across the parking lot can surely relate. Ron Washington had 2 incredibly high leverage situations in the first 2 nights of the World Series. Does he pitch to Nick-blanking-Punto or no? Does he respect the 8-hole batter for the Cardinals or work around him to get to the pitcher/pinch hitter spot in St Louis?

In Game 1, Washington opts to anger the masses by treating Punto and Albert Pujols the same way, and carefully walks Punto to get to pinch hitter Allen Craig. Of course, since Craig singles in 2-runs off the untouchable Alexei Ogando, it is the wrong decision, skip. You make Punto beat you.

Poor decision, Wash.

So, as baseball seems to do, the exact scenario is duplicated the next night.

Here comes Punto in Game 2. 2 outs. David Freese on 1st base. Colby Lewis has been brilliant all night. But, with Punto next, he can either force Tony LaRussa to bring on Craig, or go after Nick-blanking-Punto and get out of the inning. So, Colby does the opposite of what Washington decided the night before. Clearly, this will work.

Except, Punto lined to center field and the rally was on. Next, Craig amazingly gets another hit off Ogando, and St Louis takes a 1-0 lead in which it seems evident that 1 run is all it would take.

Poor decision, Wash.

Yes, the exact opposite decision was also wrong. Why? Because Ogando couldn't erase Craig either night. If he works around Punto, it is wrong. If he challenges Punto, it is wrong. Basically, if Ogando can't retire Allen Craig either night, then Washington is wrong.

But, I suppose the sports gods giveth, as well.

Because in the 9th, the aggressive Rangers get the breaks they need. Kinsler swipes 2nd by an inch. So they are "aggressive". If he is out by an inch, they (and their manager) are "reckless". Pujols misses a cut-off throw, so Washington was a good manager last night. LaRussa, of course, was not. His team lost. So, bad decisions, skip.

These guys make decisions, and so do the rest of us. But, most of us make decisions like whether we should have a burger or pizza tonight with the family. Millions of eyeballs don't and won't care. And then, this weekend, we will act like we have all of the answers that these guys don't when their teams take the fields in Arlington.

We shall all be ready to 2nd guess again. They will make many decisions to attempt to get their teams a victory. And provided the players they trust deliver, they will face no further scrutiny. But, the second a decision doesn't deliver it will be time to unleash that fury again.

Just remember; the only way they can win with you is if they do, in fact, win.

Pretty high stakes, huh?

Friday, July 29, 2011

Average Averages

When crunching numbers, you need to know the average. If you just landed on earth from a galaxy far, far away, and the first human you saw was Yao Ming, you may not have a good reference for the average height of a human.

If the first house you see is owned by Tom Hicks, that may confuse your idea of what a house looks like.

And the same is true when looking at baseball statistics. Most people know that hitting .300 is great, hitting .200 is awful, and hitting .400 is the eternal dream. But, what means better-than-average?

Well, here are the league averages for 4 important stats. 2011 stats are through July 28, 2011.


2011ERAAVGOBPSLG
MLB3.86.253.320.392
AL3.92.256.322.399
NL3.80.251.318.386

Table Tutorial




2010ERAAVGOBPSLG
MLB4.07.257.325.403
AL4.14.260.327.407
NL4.02.255.324.399

Table Tutorial




2009ERAAVGOBPSLG
MLB4.31.262.333.418
AL4.45.267.336.428
NL4.19.259.331.409

Table Tutorial



2008ERAAVGOBPSLG
MLB4.32.264.333.416
AL4.35.268.336.420
NL4.29.260.331.413

Table Tutorial



So, the major league average in 2011 (to date) for batting average is .253-
The league average for on base percentage was .320-
And, the league average for slugging percentage was .392-
That would make the league average OPS (OBP + Slugging) .712
And the league average in 2011 for ERA is 3.86 - the lowest it has been since 1992!

2011: .253/.320/.392 3.86
2010: .257/.325/.403 4.07
2009: .262/.333/,418 4.31
2008: .264/.333/.416 4.32
2007: .268/.336/.423 4.46
2006: .269/.337/.432 4.52
2005: .264/.330/.419 4.28
2004: .266/.335/.428 4.46
2003: .264/.333/.422 4.39
2002: .261/.331/.417 4.27
2001: .264/.332/.427 4.41
2000: .270/.345/.437 4.76
1999: .271/.345/.434 4.70
1998: .266/.335/.420 4.42
1997: .267/.337/.419 4.38
1996: .270/.340/.427 4.60
1995: .267/.338/.417 4.45
1994: .270/.339/.424 4.50
1993: .265/.332/.403 4.18
1992: .256/.322/.377 3.74

So, hopefully, this will help you the next time you examine someone's stats.